Seriously, over email?

September 1, 2005 at 4:51 am (Uncategorized)

There’s a boy in my life. Did I mention that? He’s tall (yay!) and sweet (double yay!) and seemed for a while there to simply adore me for no good reason. He’s straightforward, calls me on my bullshit, and yet manages to get the really good stuff out of me–the secrets I tell only a select few. He was calling, texting, or emailing at least 5 times a day. Even picking me up at the airport before the mandatory 2 month waiting period was up. He was an instaboyfriend extroardinaire. And then all of a sudden there was a strange email, a canceled date, a mysterious family emergency (no details) and then nothing. The line went dead. He went MIA and my imagination went into overdrive. Now, when I should be studying for the GMATs or watching So You Think You Can Dance or finishing a project at work, I’m thinking of all of the possible scenarios going down 30 miles away at his house. Then yesterday, I finally got an email. “I have so much going on right now with my family…I just don’t think it’s fair to you…I’m just going to need some time to deal with this…I’ll explain later when I can…” Seriously? Did he just do that? A “break” over email? It’s not that I’m not sympathetic–I mean if it’s truly disasterous, I feel terrible for the guy. But over email? Over. Email. !?!

I seem to attract men with disaster in their future. Last summer I went on the most perfect date on a Tuesday with a guy who smacked his head on a brick walkway and was put into a drug induced coma on Sunday. I think I should start asking them to sign a release before the first date. My father has offered to put his considerable legal skills to the task. Notice he didn’t even question the validity of the idea.

Leave a Reply

