You know you’re in Vegas when…

May 19, 2006 at 3:24 am (Uncategorized)

1. There are hazardous waste containers in the bathroom to collect dirty needles…and they’re full.
2. You trip over something in the airport and look back to find it was a collection of empty Corona bottles.
3. Someone asks if the cocktail waitress your cousin brought out to the bar is his “evening companion.”

I landed at McCarran at 1:50 am Boston time, spent 20 minutes in a surprisingly long cab line realizing that I was stupid to worry about bringing low cut dresses to a wedding considering what some people wore to the airport, met my aunt and uncle in the lobby of the Four Seasons, dropped my things off upstairs and went down to meet the bride, groom and friends for drinks and then a burlesque show at Forty Deuce. I eventually crawled into bed around 6:30 am my time.

I had met the football player groom at the bride’s brother’s wedding two years ago. He worked so hard on us, the family, that I didn’t take in how he looked at my cousin. And though I’m biased, I can say with certainty that my cousin is pretty damn fantastic. She’s smart, kind, funny, beautiful, ambitious and fearless. Then, at the rehearsal dinner, in front of 80 of their closest family and friends, he picked up the microphone and said, “I am SO in love with this woman.” And my cousin beamed back at him and I got it. He was worthy.

The weekend passed in a blur of introductions, reminiscences, and Grey Goose and sodas. I gravitated towards my cousin’s business school friends, having less in common with the girls from Florida who seemed the type to have no real answer to questions like, “what do you do?”

The big event was like something out of In Style. White everywhere with towering arrangements of orchids. A band, three singers and a Frank Sinatra impersonator. Huge bed like things (all in white) that were used as lounges, dance floors and drink rests. Top shelf open bar. Speeches by a stand up comic (the matron of honor), vocal stylings by a professional football player (the best man), filet mignon and lobster tail, and a cake that was secretly chocolate brownie layers with chocolate ganache served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. It was as surreal as the 6 carat diamond earrings I had on tonight.

And though the thought of “til death do us part” still scares the bejesus out of me, I’m starting to think the party might be worth it.

1 Comment

  1. fabulous girl said,

    There’s a story behind those earrings, I hope – do tell!

Leave a Reply

