Perhaps I need to put it on a t-shirt

November 14, 2006 at 6:29 am (present)

They phrase it many different ways, but the question is always the same: where do you come from?

I get it at least once a month, and that feels like a lot. Tonight he asked, “What country are you from?” For a second I contemplated making something up. Liechtenstein! Malta! Monaco! Instead I answered the question he meant to ask and explained that my great-grandparents came from Russia. I don’t mind the question, but I wonder if I get it more than most. When’s the last time you were asked?

4 Comments

  1. NH said,

    I get asked all the time – hairdressers, bartender/waiters, colleagues, on the bus, etc. I even get asked over e-mail and then people come closer to guessing correctly.

    Seeing me in person, I’ve only had one person (maybe 2 – can’t remember) guess correctly; it was in a pizza shop in Boston, and the guy behind the counter made a bet with his colleague. He bet that I was Iranian or mixed, and his friend said Brazilian. The one who was right was also Iranian. I have to say, it was weird to have him come over to me while I’m waiting for my pizza, and say, “We have a bet about you.”

    Then again, I’m pretty sure I get asked way more than the norm. I’m semi-used to it… I don’t have much of a choice. 🙂

  2. BS said,

    As I recall, I thought you were South Asian, but I can definitely imagine that you get the question all the time. You and I could crash a lot of weddings 🙂

  3. BS said,

    As I recall, I thought you were South Asian, but I can definitely imagine that you get the question all the time. You and I could crash a lot of weddings 🙂

  4. fabulous girl said,

    I don’t get it until I say about … and then they just know. And then they ask me about their friend from college who now lives in Prince George … not the same, is it.

Leave a Reply

