Week 4, Swim 8: 2500m

February 23, 2007 at 8:33 pm (getting physical)

As I train, I am learning to celebrate the little victories. This is a lesson as useful in life as it is in triathlon training. But on Wednesday, it was no small victory.

For my first triathlon I have only one official goal. Finish the thing upright with a smile on my face. Of course, I’ve been arguing with myself about setting other goals…the kind you’re not supposed to set for your first race: run the whole 4 miles (this seems reasonable now, but I can’t predict the effects of post-swim and bike fatigue); finish the bike in under an hour; and complete the swim in under 20 minutes. This is dangerous territory and I shouldn’t be doing it. They warn it will only lead to disappointment.

On Wednesday, I swam my first continuous 700 meters. Thankfully, the pool was set with the long lanes, so I only had to count to 14, instead of 28. As it was my first swim of that length with no little 10 second rests, I chose to take it relatively easy (50 slow, 50 med., 50 fast, 50 slow, 50 med., 50 fast, 50 slow, 50 med., 100 fast, 50 slow, 50 med., 100 fast), but I timed myself nonetheless.

700m in 15:10. That’s not fast, mind you, but there’s no way that last hundred will take me three minutes, let alone over four and a half. And I wasn’t really even out of breath.

I think it’s now safe to say I have two official goals for this triathlon. Finish it upright with a smile on my face and complete the swim in less than 20 minutes. Just don’t ask me how the runs are going…

Leave a Reply

