Shopping is a sport

March 7, 2007 at 7:50 pm (getting physical, shopping)

I wandered from rack to rack discovering wonderful things. It was a sea of amazing fabrics, attention to detail and row after row of shoes. I was compelled to buy – I simply NEEDED it. All of it. Was I in Bloomingdale’s? Nordstrom? The fantastic Saks in Union Square? Some great boutique on Sacramento Street? Nope. I was smack dab in the middle of my new Mecca: Sports Basement. Yes, you read that right. I have discovered Sports Basement and I am in love. I think this must be what new mothers feel when they realize that they’re describing their child’s eating and waste disposal habits with the same passion they had previously reserved for torrid affairs with bartenders. The Banana Republic, Theory, and Elie Tahari in my closet (and the Marc Jacobs, Chloe, and Zac Posen that I wish were there) have been replaced by TYR, Cannondale and New Balance.

I even bought my triathlon outfit (minus whatever singlet I find to throw on top for extra support), so it can now officially be said that I’m dressing for the time I want, instead of the time I’m likely to have.

Leave a Reply

