File this one under Girls I Just Don’t Understand

March 9, 2007 at 7:01 pm (favs, past, plays well with others)

February 2006

“I just couldn’t convince him that we should be together. He was unconvinceable.”

The words came out of her mouth in a tumble, truth spilling out unfiltered, and it was clear that she thought the sentiment perfectly rational. I attempted a quick recovery, some reply about bartenders and time healing all wounds, but the involuntary cringe gave me away. It was everything I’ve never understood – a reaction I’d never had and couldn’t imagine having. He was unconvinceable? Was she serious?

I’ve never understood women who fight for a man. Any indication that someone is losing interest has me running for the hills. As turn-offs go, it’s up there with wedding rings and red silk boxers. I would never try to convince someone to be with me. I don’t beg, weep, or try to persuade. Perhaps it’s my loss. Perhaps it’s a defense mechanism. Perhaps I am just too proud. Or perhaps I just haven’t yet met anyone worth fighting for.

Regardless, these convincer girls baffle me. Do they think their unconvinceable boyfriends are going to sit down and calmly listen to a point by point argument, suddenly recanting their “let’s be friends” because of a rational explanation of that most irrational emotion?

It’s just like Lea Thompson said to Eric Stolz in Some Kind of Wonderful when she gives back the diamond earrings. (C’mon, you can admit you understand this reference, I promise we won’t laugh.)

“Remember when I said I’d rather be with someone for the wrong reasons than alone for the right ones? Well, I’d rather be right.”

1 Comment

  1. fabulous girl said,

    Ahem. How did you know I needed this this week, exactly? Nice work, BS.

Leave a Reply

