Peaks and Valleys

March 26, 2007 at 9:56 pm (future, getting physical)

Everything hurts: my right shoulder, my left knee, my right foot, my hip flexers, my lower back, my neck, my ankles, my achilles tendons.

I ran today, but it was an effort. I’ll swim tomorrow, but I’m not looking forward to it. I swam over the weekend, but I was miserable. The thing they don’t tell you about swimming in cold water is just how long it will take before you gain control of your body again. That precious mind-body connection, cultivated over months of training, is gone in an instant when 53 degree water floods your wetsuit. Beyond the body’s natural tinge of panic is a stubborn unwillingness to make it any worse. Logically, I knew that I’d tire myself out swimming with my head up, but try as I might, I couldn’t make myself put my face in the water. It took twenty minutes before I could pull off several consecutive minutes of a strong smooth stroke with bilateral breathing. That was Saturday. And now I’m exhausted.

I’m drinking Emergen-C daily and taking multi-vitamins. I’m trying to get as much sleep as possible. I’m eating half a pound of broccoli and drinking calcium fortified orange juice. I’m zoning in front of bad television whenever I can. I’m making friends with my bottle of Ibuprofen. But I’m just exhausted. On Tuesday, I had a great run – the kind where I wanted to go around the loop again. By Thursday, I was headed toward the low point in which I’m currently residing.

When I finish this race, I’ll also be in pain, I’ll also be exhausted, but after achieving my goal and with my parents and the IP cheering me on, I’ll be on top of the world. Right now it’s just fatigue and overuse. And digging deep. And focusing on what inspires me.

Triathlon: If it were easy, they’d call it football.

Leave a Reply

