Weekly Baggage: Bon Voyage

March 29, 2007 at 10:50 pm (Weekly Baggage)


In honor of my Saturday departure for Paradise, I give you a lovely, if somewhat preppy, vacation bag.

Last year, I couldn’t wait. I was aching for the break, the warmth, the time to run, drink, and read. This year it just feels somehow…different.

I have a new life now and this one isn’t imbued with desperation. I have a job where establishing a work-life balance is encouraged. I’m not craving exercise (see previous tri posts). I drink good wine with friends across the street. I read on the train or at lunch in the sunshine. I get outside regularly and it doesn’t involve snow boots or a wool coat.

Obviously, I’m still thrilled that I’ll be heading west for the week, but it’s amazing how much less I need Hawaii, when I finally have what I want: California.

Leave a Reply

