Why Being an Only Child Sucks

October 31, 2007 at 11:06 pm (in my head, the fam)

Being minus one boyfriend means I’m now out of the family trip to Italy this summer.

See, before heading to a Tuscan villa with our Roman friends to drink wine in the shade of olive and lemon trees heavy with fruit (or so my imagination goes), we are taking a little cruise around the Western Mediterranean. And single occupancy on a cruise ship is just too expensive they say. I’m not sure that meeting them somewhere post-cruise, but pre-villa will work. So I’m out. But…seriously? Italy. Mediterranean. Villa. I want all that. It just seems unfair that I have to give up the family trip when I’m already down regular sex and cuddling.

3 Comments

  1. Jess said,

    What? That’s crazy. Would they be paying more for you without the boyfriend, or are they trying to say that it’s just too inefficient? What a mean thing to do right after you break up with somebody.

  2. BS said,

    Actually, it was implied long before the breakup, but I just remembered yesterday. It’s really the single occupancy on the cruise thing. I’d likely pay for the cruise on my own and have been advised that I can’t afford it if it’s just me. It’s not so much my parents being mean as it is the Universe being unfair.

  3. fabulous girl said,

    Talk about piling on! I mean, now is the time when you need a cruise/something to look forward to.

    I totally get it, but still …

Leave a Reply

