The Soundtrack to Moving On

December 18, 2007 at 7:40 am (Uncategorized)

‘Member I mentioned a post-breakup playlist? Well here it is, broken down Celebrity iMix style.

Almost Lover – A Fine Frenzy
So hauntingly lovely.

Tell Her This – Del Amitri
Reminds me of driving around in high school pining away for a boy…or three. And somehow speaks for all of the boys who haven’t yet figured themselves out.

You’ll Lose a Good Thing – Barbara Lynn
This one’s just, well, true 😉

I Got the Blues – Rolling Stones
I love it when the Stones slow it down and get soulful.

I Wish it Would Rain – Temptations
Because that’s really what I wish for when I’m blue. Rain, rain, and more rain. With a side of thunder.

If You Need Me – Solomon Burke
Because I would, if he did.

There’ll Be Another Spring – Dianne Reeves
Her voice lowers my blood pressure, no matter what she’s singing.

Little Victories – Matt Nathanson
Great, great, great live show and this tune is sung with nearly childlike conviction.

Strangers Again – Ari Hest
Just a sad song.

Boys Don’t Cry – The Cure
I end up chair dancing every time I hear this.

Dance Little Sister – Rolling Stones
Epitomizes that Saturday-night-lookin’-good-and-being-bad feeling

He Wants Me Back – Dance Hall Crashers
He doesn’t, but really this song just reminds me of Paris.

I’m Not Cryin’ for You – Save Ferris
Whatever happened to Save Ferris? Appearance in a Julia Stiles film aside, their stuff made me smile.

Dancing With Myself – The Donnas
Better when sung by rockin’ women.

Till I get to You – Nikka Costa
Fires me up every damn time. Also good for running.

Lookin’ for a Love – Ryan Shaw
“Someone to help me do the housework, and then make love again.” ‘Nuff said.

I’m Gonna Find Another You – John Mayer
He sounds hot when you don’t watch him sing. And hope is a key ingredient in moving on.

Feeling Good – Nina Simone
This song reaches all the way into the tips of my toes and makes we want to take over a room with my hips.

3 Comments

  1. Jess said,

    Since I’m engaged and all, I’m hoping never to break up with someone again. However, this is a fantastic soundtrack, and should I somehow end up in that position again one day, I will totally have to come back here and recreate this list for myself.

  2. amber said,

    Great soundtrack, and I hope you feel better soon.

  3. BS said,

    Thanks Amber. I’m actually fine, just super slow about posting the soundtrack.

Leave a Reply

