Catching Up

April 10, 2008 at 7:22 pm (future, past, plays well with others)

I’m pretty sure I don’t deserve to have this much fun.
Two weekends ago, my charming friend E came to town. I’ve known the girl since pre-school and I’m always thrilled when I get to spend time with her. She’s uber smart, ridiculously strong (emotionally and physically), and she keeps me honest. What’s not to love? Along with the rest of her bridesmaids (minus one), we did the tourist thing (picking up a visiting Irishwoman/complete stranger on the way to Alcatraz, as usually happens with E).  On Saturday night we visited the bridesmaid who tends bar at her place of employment. Highlights included round after round of shots on the house, lots and lots of dancing, and one incredibly tasty rugby player who convinced me that there are gorgeous men lurking somewhere in this city.
Last Friday I had a platonic blind date with C’s very tall friend who 1) melted my heart when he said that getting rid of his dog in order to move into a city apartment was “not an option” 2) displayed an appropriately reluctant willingness to pretend my girly drink was his and 3) shared my very dirty sense of humor. But note to self: wear heels when meeting men over 6′ 4″.
Saturday had me playing a very comfortable fifth wheel to Roommate and boyfriend + Fashion Plate and boyfriend’s foursome. Bushi-tei was a fascinating experience and great overall, with only infrequent mis-steps here and there. Two of us tried the omakase and I couldn’t possibly remember every course, but the yuzu sorbet intermezzo and the octopus second course stood out.
The birthday trip to Philly/DC is in serious planning mode. The Future CEO tells me that we’ll celebrate with her Wharton friends on a Wednesday (these B School kids never work), then take the train to meet C in Washington on 5/2 (my birthday!). C tells me that our sessions with Blue Mercury makeup artists are booked. The Southern Belle has kindly used her industry discount to book us a room near Dupont Circle and the discussion of potential birthday dinner restaurants is underway (we’re leaning towards Komi or Obelisk, if anyone has opinions and/or suggestions). Now all we need is a place to meet the larger crew for libations and boogying after dinner. It’s going to be an amazing celebration and I’m ready to go NOW.
1 Comment

  1. Jess said,

    Just FYI–I went to Obelisk with my parents once and we were really excited because it is supposed to be incredibly good, and all of us were disappointed by the food–it just wasn’t that great. I’ve never been to Komi though, so I can’t offer an opinion.

Leave a Reply

