Yet another reason I was not meant for this decade

June 23, 2008 at 4:48 pm (if I ruled the world, in my head)

Roommate and I got into a discussion the other day about work attire and Silicon Valley. I blame Ben Stein; he started it. I was watching CBS Sunday Morning (in the middle of Sunday afternoon, as is my custom), when Roommate sat down just in time for Mr. Stein’s rant about the decline of the tie. She contends that the dot com folks intended their free t-shirts and cargo shorts to be an anti-establishment statement, while I maintain that they’re just typical engineers who were finally running their own show. I don’t see the increasing casualness of the work wardrobe as entirely the fault of my neighbors down south. The trend existed before personal computers did, but those tech kids sure as hell accelerated it. The discussion went nowhere, though it ended amicably (as they always do), but it got me thinking about suits, ties, and the men who wear them. 

Men of the world, please take note: suits and ties are hot. Little else, save perhaps a Red Sox shirt, will make sophisticated, intelligent women take notice of you faster than a good suit and well-selected tie. As Stein noted, ties used to announce that a man was a professional, back when societal divisions of that nature mattered. No one needs to announce their occupation by way of their attire anymore, but a suit and tie still connotes power – if not social, then sartorial. They make a man look serious, witty, and  aware. They announce that he took care in selecting his clothing for the day, that he chooses to present a polished face to the world. They make him look attractive, no matter his looks. They make him look like a man, instead of a boy playing office.
A guy I dated used to tell me I looked beautiful in the morning (love makes you blind – and, apparently, willing to believe almost anything), but it was when I showed up one evening in a pencil skirt and stilettos that he couldn’t help but make me late to the party we were attending. I may come to accept that San Francisco men don’t dress for work, but you’ll never find me making one late to a party over a polo shirt or a hoodie.
3 Comments

  1. fabulous girl said,

    Word, word, word.

  2. Jess said,

    And this is why GQ exists. Mmm. Eye candy for those of us forced to go without on a daily basis.

  3. amber said,

    Suits and ties definitely trump hoodies.

Leave a Reply

