The sad, sad state of things, Part 3

August 14, 2008 at 9:07 pm (in my head)

Lately I have been letting myself go. I don’t mean that I’ve put on a few pounds, but that I’ve been showing up at work in the morning in the kinds of outfits I typically reserve for the weekends: the jeans that are slightly too long so that they need to be cuffed once, the tank top and cardigan combos that are only work-appropriate when paired with heels and slacks, and the cotton skirts I wear on really hot days in lieu of shorts. I can’t remember the last time I wore makeup on a weekday or descended the steps to the train station in anything other than my Reef’s. I think I’ve lost my will to be sophisticated. 

Most mornings I finally roll out of bed approximately twenty minutes before I need to leave the house. This leaves time for a shower, a quick tooth brushing, a little eye cream, and about 2 minutes to consider the contents of my closet. I can do better. I must do better. 
Beginning next week, I will get to bed by 11 pm so that I can wake up by 6. I will iron things the night before. Hell, I’ll iron things, period. I’ll wear makeup on the days I don’t swim. I’ll choose shoes that click instead of slap. I’ll take the elastic band out of my hair. In short, I will go back to looking like a professional. Because if I don’t, I won’t be able to justify making fun of the Birkenstocks and leggings all around me.
Leave a Reply

