Stream of consciousness (mostly)

August 21, 2008 at 4:25 pm (in my head)

I’m at work right now, but it’s not where I want to be. And it’s not that I don’t like my work, I do, it’s just that I’m feeling very in between, like I need to take time somewhere in a cabin, or maybe a meadow, or at the bottom of a wine bottle. I missed ballet last night. I wanted to be there, even needed to, but my train hit someone and we were stuck waiting. I don’t mean to minimize the experience of hearing the thwack and then the air brakes, of turning to strangers who say, “that can’t be good” or of being told that we’re lucky the coroner is only 15 minutes away instead of an hour, but it turned out OK. The man we hit, who had ducked under the crossing gate, is miraculously alive with only a shattered limb for his stupidity. And it was odd to see people return to what they’d been doing only moments before – reading, working, discussing the successes of McCain’s campaign (?) – but what could we do unless we wanted to stare silently at each other instead. No ballet allowed for dinner out with Dancing Roommate and a half hour too long amidst the cacophony of smells at Amnesia. I was home with a clean face and pajamas on by 10:30. And then I dreamed. I can’t remember the last dream I had before this one; I must have had months of dreamless sleep, which made this one all the more vivid. But I’m not telling you anything except to say that it was lovely* and I woke up wishing I could dig back into the covers for more.

*and G-rated, so stop that you perv.

2 Comments

  1. Jess said,

    Love the asterisk; hilarious. Glad the guy didn’t die.

  2. NH said,

    Strange… my friend Jennie was on a train 1-2 months ago where someone was struck, and sadly killed. She was, understandably, rather traumatized.

Leave a Reply

