If only I’d known then what I know now,

November 17, 2008 at 5:10 pm (favs, in my head)

I’d have done things differently. I’d have had a little more fun. I’d have worried less. I’d have let Southern boys kiss me. I’d have played my cards closer to the vest. I’d have said yes more often. I’d have enjoyed shooting stars and holding hands and learning a new dance. I’d have watched that movie or let two drinks turn into four. I’d have admitted that he let me in years ago and I knew it. I’d have breathed more, laughed more, liked more. I’d have crushed harder and walked softer. I’d have spoken up and relished the quiet.

I can’t get to sleep
I think about the implications
Of diving in too deep
And possibly the complications

Especially at night
I worry over situations
I know will be alright
Perhaps its just my imagination

Day after day it reappears
Night after night my heartbeat, shows the fear
Ghosts appear and fade away

Alone between the sheets
Only brings exasperation
Its time to walk the streets
Smell the desperation

At least there’s pretty lights
And though there’s little variation
It nullifies the night
From overkill

Day after day it reappears
Night after night my heartbeat, shows the fear
Ghosts appear and fade away

I can’t get to sleep
I think about the implications
Of diving in too deep
And possibly the complications

Especially at night
I worry over situations
I know will be alright
Its just overkill

Day after day it reappears
Night after night my heartbeat, shows the fear
Ghosts appear and fade away

“Overkill” – Colin Hay
Leave a Reply

