How I think

December 4, 2008 at 5:57 am (in my head, shopping)

I booked my flight to Austin tonight (also C’s) and our room at The Driskill (DO NOT tell me it’s haunted; I refuse to even consider it until many many many nights after I’ve stayed there). It should have been simple: go to JetBlue.com, book flight; go to hotels.com, book room. But lets get serious, I am not simple.

First I checked to see if I could get more TrueBlue (Jet Blue’s frequent flier program) points by booking the hotel through them. No luck. Then I checked my credit cards’s reward program and booking through their special link. Points for dollars spent if I booked through their link would get me about $4. Not good enough. Finally, I checked the cash back rewards for booking through Lucky Rewards (if you’re a Lucky subscriber who shops online and you don’t know about this program, I just got you a pretty damn fabulous holiday present…I mean considering I’m a stranger, isn’t any present from me amazing?). Lucky Rewards cash back for a hotels.com booking is 4%. Dingdingding. Winner!

The fact that I spent 10 minutes figuring out how to “save” about $20 isn’t the disturbing part. I mean, maybe it is, but it’s not what I want to talk about. The disturbing part is that in my mind, I made $35 on the trip (Lucky Rewards cash back plus value of credit card points). I shop like this on a regular basis. It’s not, “I spent $55 on a cashmere cardigan” it’s “I saved $100 on something I wanted anyway.” The ex-ALM was right: spending money cannot be considered saving money; it’s just logically impossible. But it’s how I think.

P.S. I am saving SO much money this holiday season!
P.P.S. I know the ex-ALM is proud that I spent 10 minutes figuring out how to save $20. I’d totally get a high five right now if he lived in this country.

5 Comments

  1. Nilsa said,

    Hahaha – I love this post. Because I think we’re all susceptible to this line of thinking. Kinda reminds me of the stupid car salesman who told me the car I was looking at was a *great* investment. I looked at him and said, “Ummm, no. Anything that loses value the minute you drive it off the lot is NOT a good investment.” Idiot.

  2. Jess said,

    Spending money using rewards programs like that IS saving money provided you were going to spend the money. If you use the 4% back to justify a purchase you wouldn’t otherwise have made, not so much. So, you’re good.

  3. Jess said,

    Spending money using rewards programs like that IS saving money provided you were going to spend the money. If you use the 4% back to justify a purchase you wouldn’t otherwise have made, not so much. So, you’re good.

  4. So@24 said,

    What a coincidence… I always thought Beelzebub would be a 34c.

  5. BS said,

    Good to know I’m either not alone or not totally crazy.

    And So@24, I’m actually a…no, I really just can’t bring myself to do that. A lady never reveals her cup size.

Leave a Reply

