Strange Saturdays

January 19, 2009 at 3:40 am (Uncategorized)

After brunching, shopping, and becoming a card-carrying member, the Ex-roommate and I stopped in for a pint. The female bartender who pulled our Blue Moons either had a thing for the feel of basketball rubber against her belly button, or she was about 8+ months pregnant. As we sat there thinking it through, we realized that there was nothing technically wrong with a pregnant woman bartending – I mean she wasn’t drinking what she served and California bars have been smoke free since the ’90s – but it was weird. Totally weird. Am I alone on this?

5 Comments

  1. Bridget said,

    I was at a wine bar last summer and the bartender was pregnant. I thought it was weird too. Maybe unfair of me — everyone needs to work and she should not change occupations because she decided to have a baby. Being a bartender, though, seems like one of the lesser “family friendly” occupations.

  2. Dan said,

    Given I had aunts and uncles who owned and ran bars, it has always seemed normal to me. I suspect that it is all a matter of past experience.

  3. SoMi's Nilsa said,

    While one side of my brain would be all WTF, the other side would ask me what’s the big deal. In fact, I’ve had pregnant friends drink a glass or two of wine each week during pregnancy – with no harm to their kids (who are now almost 10).

  4. amber said,

    I’ve lived most of my life in Montana, and seeing pregnant women bartending – or changing diapers on pool tables – isn’t an uncommon thing. It’s not a decision I’d make personally, because it ISN’T the most family-friendly occupation.

  5. BS said,

    Exactly Nilsa. There really wasn’t anything wrong with it, it just seemed odd. She had the day shift at a quiet pub in a total yuppies-with-strollers part of town and this isn’t Boston on St. Patrick’s Day (read: there wasn’t a drunken asshole in sight) so it wasn’t even particularly UN-family friendly.

    Amber – “You have a baby!…in a bar!” totally came to mind.

    Dan/Bridget – It’s totally the normal/abnormal thing as I really didn’t think she was doing anything wrong.

Leave a Reply

