Out like a lamb

March 25, 2009 at 9:48 pm (in my head, plays well with others)

Can I just not BE here right now? Can I just slip away and disappear? I don’t know if I blame this on Hawaii (I leave on 4/4!) or professional frustrations, or just spring fever, but it’s bad today. So bad that I’m considering heading to a bar after work alone.

It feels like spring. It did yesterday too. On my way home from work, I discovered that the perfect amount of outside air can be sucked in and made to circulate around the driver when you tilt the sunroof and open the front passenger window four inches. This is key information – key! – that will be put to much use over the next 6 months. This is California folks, where the sun shines and the poppies grow, and you carry an extra pair of sunglasses the way Londoners do an umbrella. These first few days over 70 degrees make me want lemonade and a hammock and cut grass between my toes. I want to frolic…just as soon as I discover what frolicking entails. I want a turn on the swings at Dolores Park and evening runs to Bi-Rite with Dancing Roommate for Balsamic Strawberry ice cream. I want sweaty dances and steamy kisses and the freckles that show up on my nose. I want baseball and beer gardens and someone lifting my hair to blow cool air on the back of my neck.

How do I make that happen?

5 Comments

  1. SoMi's Nilsa said,

    I’d totally echo your words. Except I’m just happy that it’s finally in the 50’s. How sad is that?!?

  2. Katie said,

    OH!! Me too! I love summer. I would love summer even more if I had someone to blow on my neck…

  3. Bridget said,

    Ah it is supposed to be 70 here on Saturday. I cannot wait. I can see little buds on trees. Makes me want to break out my flip flops and tank tops. 🙂

    Summer cannot be here fast enough!

  4. amber said,

    Aww. I felt like going to a bar alone after work, too. Some days are like that.

  5. Sassalicious said,

    I’m sooo feeling this! I’m a cali girl as well, and I am cursed with an ocean view all day long. I know – poor me, but seriously I think it more difficult being able to see how beautiful it is out there right now and be able to fully enjoy it! Friday’s are the worst!

Leave a Reply

