Hawaii, briefly

April 13, 2009 at 10:35 pm (the fam)

I went 6 days with no Facebook, no Twitter, no Reader, no Blogger, and only two checks of one of my four email accounts. Besides chatting with C and Mr. Biscotti (the boy I’ve been spending a little time with who is sweet like an Italian cookie), I completely disconnected.

It. Was. Glorious.

But the thing about shutting out the world for a while is that it all comes rushing back in with a vengeance when you finally let it.

I’m going to leave the Hawaii recap at that in part because I have a few posts stored up in my head and in part because I think it’s cruel to talk about paradise when people are stuck in places where it could still snow. I’ll just leave you with my nightly view.

6 Comments

  1. SoMi's Nilsa said,

    I love checking out. Whenever we go to my parents’ beach house, I rarely check email, no cell phone service and no TV (well, there’s a TV, but it’s only good to watch DVDs). I am always ready to reconnect with the world at the end, but boy do I enjoy my time away. Good for you for being able to do it! So many people can’t do it.

  2. peterdewolf said,

    It DID snow here overnight.

    Madness.

  3. WendyB said,

    In some ways, I dislike vacations because when you come back your vacation mood is gone in 3 seconds and everything seems even worse than it did before you got away from it! Grrr.

  4. amber said,

    OH MY GOD you suck right now! 🙂 I’m sooo glad you got to go to Hawaii. And insanely jealous because yes, we’re still getting snow warnings here.

  5. Bridget said,

    I need to learn to check out once in a while. It is so healthy..

    Sounds absolutely lovely. I miss Kona.

    So glad you had such a wonderful time!

  6. BS said,

    I’d take a little snow right now. It was 90+ degrees today in San Francisco.

Leave a Reply

