Weekend

April 20, 2009 at 3:57 pm (Uncategorized)

Just in case you’re dying to see 17 Again, I feel that it’s my duty to tell you it blows. I know how surprising (and likely disappointing) that statement must be, but I think we know each other well enough to be honest. Of course, if you’re dying to see Zac Efron temper his dance ability with some manly basketball playing (again) then you won’t be disappointed. If you need to be reminded of every high school cliche imaginable, then look no further. If you want to cringe as a 17-year-old flirts unabashedly with his best friend’s mother (who also happens to be the 17-year-old’s wife) and a girl tries to seduce her father (who she doesn’t know is her father), then you will get your fill. Why, you might ask, did I pay to see the movie in the first place? The drive-in* didn’t offer much of a selection and I’d choose almost anything over Hannah Montana. It was sort of a “Close your eyes and think of England” situation. But it wasn’t that kind of trip to the drive in. Perv.

Though the drive in experience itself was fun (even if the movie wasn’t), it was the low point in a weekend that began with a glass of rose with friends across the street. Rose led into a second glass at our favorite neighborhood wine bar and then a bourbon-based cocktail while waiting for a table. I might have gotten a little drunk. I also might have professed my love for Adventures in Babysitting.

I wrapped up the weekend with an 85-degree Sunday spent in Golden Gate Park with Dancing Roommate. We relaxed in the shade (and I cuddled with the iPhone) until we decided that sunset called for beer and the beach.


Somehow I just knew you were all dying to see my beat up old Reefs.

I also found a dress for the birthday celebration (in black, sans belt). Simple, versatile, and very touchable.

Twelfth St. by Cynthia Vincent.

*Is everyone proud that I didn’t start belting out “Stranded at the Drive In”? Because I am.

5 Comments

  1. SoMi's Nilsa said,

    I really don’t think a dancing Zac Efron is high on my wish list. Though sunsets on the beach definitely are. *jealous*

  2. Katie said,

    I used to LOVE that movie (Adventures in Babysitting, not 17 again), and the dress is very pretty.

  3. amber said,

    I had no plans to watch 17 Again, because UGH Zac Efron is such a pretty boy. But Adventures in Babysitting WAS awesome. I still love that movie.

  4. peterdewolf said,

    Adventures in Babysitting is an underrated classic.

    iPhone cuddling, eh?

  5. BS said,

    I still have a special place in my heart for that opening sequence with “And Then He Kissed Me”.

    The iPhone got a bit handsy, the little bugger.

Leave a Reply

