Napa Valley with Altitude plus other bits and pieces

April 24, 2009 at 5:05 am (Uncategorized)

Last night, at the Napa Valley with Altitude event, I tasted wine from Hess, Mayacamas, Kiss Ridge, Spring Mountain, Frias Family, Pride, Keenan, Paras, Robert Craig, Barnett, and Terra Valentine. I’m assuming that’s why I reacted so calmly when a woman overheard me talking about plans for my 30th birthday and explained to her husband that “they [I was there with my father] are going to celebrate their 30th anniversary in Napa.” Let’s put aside for a moment the whole “Ew! He’s my DAD!” factor and consider that to be celebrating my 30th anniversary next year I would have had to have been married before I was born. Even if she assumed I got married at 15, I couldn’t help but be insulted that I looked 45.

Email from Billy:

If you are sure I’m the fella who wore the Cubs cap, then I’m 93.7% sure you are the very first girl I nervously called on the phone to ask about a “friendship bracelet!”

Weren’t we adorable kids? (Just say yes.) These days he flies helicopters and has facial hair.

Overheard today at Calafia:

First off, I want to apologize for my behavior. After that twelfth drink, I said some things that may have been inappropriate. I’m worried that I gave you the wrong impression. I was nervous and haven’t been on a first date in a long time and you’re an amazing woman…

Sorry dude, I’m pretty sure you lost her at “twelfth drink”.

Yes, it’s been a quiet week.

2 Comments

  1. Bridget said,

    What IS it about Napa that makes people jump to weird, disturbing conclusions? Ok, so I get that maybe you weren't in Napa but still…

    The first time I was there was with the Ex when we first began dating. Someone at our B&B (such a cliche, I know) asked if we were getting engaged that weekend. I nearly soiled my pants.

    Twelfth drink? Holy moly.

    Have a great weekend!

  2. BS said,

    I choose to believe that it has to do with all that wine. Of course, I was a few glasses in and managed to refrain from jumping to weird conclusions…

Leave a Reply

