Can’t make this stuff up

April 27, 2009 at 7:42 am (It's all about me, plays well with others)

I was in a car accident tonight.

I got hit by a cop.

Go ahead, you’re allowed to laugh.

He came up to my window and asked if we were all right (we were). Then he asked me if I knew what happened. I looked him straight in the eye and said, “Um…yeah. You hit me.”

It would be less funny if it had been entirely his fault. I was in the right lane of what I didn’t realize was a one-way street when I decided to make a left. He slammed into the driver’s side, near the trunk. A witness came over to voice her opinion that signage at the intersection should to be improved (she had seen a similar accident happen in the same spot) and gave a statement. I think the witness (thank you stranger!) and my unintentional smart-ass response worked in my favor because the police officer chose not to cite me for the illegal maneuver.

While I’m still tense about what this will do to my insurance and how I’ll pay for the repairs (bye, bye trip to Colorado for Memorial Day Weekend), I have not failed to think about all of the ways in which the situation could have been so much worse. And because I’m all about finding the lesson in the craptastic, I have used the accident as an impetus to quit a very dangerous habit. If this can happen while my only distraction is a passenger helping me navigate, then I can no longer afford to text or email while driving. I should have learned that lesson ages ago (and it shouldn’t have required major body work) but, well, I didn’t.

In other news, I saw Burn the Floor (use of “Nights in White Satin” was almost unforgivable until they broke out “I Just Want to Make Love to You”) and got a wonderful haircut just in time to celebrate my upcoming birthday. See?! See?!


Bad lighting, great hair.

7 Comments

  1. peterdewolf said,

    Texting? Eeeep.

    Hair looks great though.

  2. Jess said,

    Oh, that sucks! Glad everyone’s OK. And the hair looks awesome.

  3. Jess said,

    Oh, that sucks! Glad everyone’s OK. And the hair looks awesome.

  4. SoMi's Nilsa said,

    Phew – lucky everyone turned out to be OK. A good lesson to learn is one where no one gets hurt. And no one gets a haircut, too. Cute. =)

  5. BS said,

    Thanks! I’m very seriously considering having her blow it out once every six weeks or so, just to feel that glamorous for an afternoon.

  6. fabulous girl said,

    The hair is great, the texting-while-driving is not. Step away from the iPhone.

  7. Best of 2009 – Night out « Busty Satan said,

    […] I was all kinds of excited about 2009. And then…I just started to take it all too hard. The accident, the fall, the fainting, the deviant international student, losing my grandma, being sick. I could […]

Leave a Reply

