Don’t Look Down

May 18, 2009 at 3:40 pm (in my head)

Sometimes I hate making little decisions like where to eat or which pair of Loeffler Randall flats to wear. And yet I never mind the medium to big ones. I approach the bigger decisions carefully, logically. I develop a mental matrix that compares all of the factors that are important to me. I do an insane amount of research and gather anecdotal evidence. And then I go with my gut.

My gut and I get along well. I trust it, even if I occasionally ignore it (*cough* The Texter *cough*). It leads me to good things, good people, good experiences. But if big decisions are like sky diving, then my gut doesn’t get me out of the plane. Logic can tell me my chances of ending up a pile of human sausage and my gut can tell me that I’m willing to take that chance, but neither one pushes me to take that last step into thin air.

Your gut is pure emotion as is whatever force convinces you to take a chance, so it frustrates me to no end when people speak ill of being led astray by their feelings. On Saturday, a friend told the story of a man with a brain injury. He was a high-powered lawyer or accountant, something generally considered very left-brain, who lost everything when the injury took away his emotions. He became paralyzed by even small decisions like which pen to use because his gut was gone. When there was no logical reason for choosing one item over another, he couldn’t decide. He lost his friends, his family, and his job. He lost his humanity.

I’ve examined my options.
I’ve done the research and gathered the evidence.
I’ve consulted my gut.

It’s time to jump.

6 Comments

  1. M.J. said,

    I am like that with little decisions…my boyfriend gets irate when it takes me 20 minutes to order at a restaurant. But with big decisions, I know exactly what I want!

  2. peterdewolf said,

    Innnteresting.

  3. Katie said,

    What a great post! This is the English teacher coming out…ready?…Fantastic analogy! There. I feel better šŸ™‚

  4. Bridget said,

    I’m with Katie. I absolutely love this post.

  5. BS said,

    Thanks! This applies to so many things in my life right now.

  6. Wanting letters after my name « Busty Satan said,

    […] I’m certainly not there yet, but I think that eventually, I’m just going to have to jump. […]

Leave a Reply

