I don’t need no stinkin’ title

June 26, 2009 at 11:24 am (in my head, It's all about me, shopping, snippets)

I’ve been thinking about a number of things that aren’t worthy of a post of their own, so you get them all here, jumbled together. It’s not because I don’t care, I swear. Damn it, now I’m rhyming. Sure sign of sleep deprivation.

Just Say It
Why don’t we say the (good) things we think? The woman who checks me into my ballet class looked absolutely stunning on Wednesday. Her eye makeup combined with her cerulean top made her baby blues and peaches-and-cream complexion look amazing. Why didn’t I just say that the color looked great on her?

Every day on the train I wait with bated breath to see one particular commuter’s outfit. He mixes patterns and textures, wears gorgeous well-polished shoes, and knows how to dress to emphasize his long lean shape. The Sartorialist would photograph him on the street. Every day I search stealthily for him and then smile when I see some new expression of his style. One day I’ll tell him to say how dapper I think he is.

My mom hurt my feelings over the weekend. It was her day (and retirement party), so I kept silent even when I wanted to rage against a pile of pent-up perceived injustices (we’ve moved from rhyming to alliteration). Why haven’t I brought it up yet? It’s festering.

“Because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.”
For me, this doesn’t only apply to people. Once I make a decision, I want it to take effect NOW. When I finally chose a car, waiting the twelve hours until the auction was physically painful; I had a nervous tummy and zero concentration. When I decided on a college, I went out and bought an alarm clock because I HAD to start planning for my new life 3000 miles and many months away. Yesterday I made another big decision, so of course I’m squirming. I want to make it happen immediately. Preferably last week.

Snarky Sign Update
There are now several handwritten additions to my sign, including:
“You go Kitchen Zorro!”
“Yes! Yes!”
“Si! Si”
“Yes we can!”
“A plate called hope”
My week as Honorary Curator of Culinary Spaces ends today, but I think the sign will live on.

C and Me
The inimitable C is in town and I just love having her nearby. I missed the way she gets excited when she really likes her wine and the way I can lay out an agenda for our dinner while knowing full well we’ll only get to one item before we veer way, way, WAY off-topic and start giggling uncontrollably.

C loves makeup. (NB: This doesn’t mean she wears a ton of it, she is the picture of tasteful elegance.) Every time we get together we perform our regular ritual. We dump out the entire contents of our makeup bags and go through it piece by piece explaining how and when we use each product. It’s a little bizarre, but so are we. Next weekend C and I go to our very favorite makeup store and I am deep in preparation mode. So it won’t come as a surprise to hear that I’m considering a post laying out my favorite products and asking for your recommendations on what I should add. Consider yourself forewarned.

New Blog Projects
I’ve been working on two ideas. One is very, very basic (and not remotely original) and will begin now (see below). The other is a glimpse into the very private world of my personal journals. Why? Because I’m sick of editing myself. Stay tuned as I bare my soul. Sort of.

Friday Four
I’m listening to Eric Lindell, Gulf Coast Highway
I’m reading White Tiger, Aravind Adiga
I’m craving the salciccia pizza from A16
I’m coveting easy femininity with a sporty edge.

8 Comments

  1. SoMi's Nilsa said,

    I’m just like you – when I make a decision, I want to reap the benefits. NOW. That’s probably what got me in trouble with buying the car I bought. But, it’s also brought me a world of satisfaction and happiness. Here’s hoping you get to act on “it” sooner versus later!

    • BS said,

      Something tells me I will need to be patient in order to find the apartment that’s right for me, but it’s so harrrrrrrrrrrd!

  2. WendyB said,

    I told a random someone just this week that I liked her pink leopard wedges 😀

    • BS said,

      Pink leopard brings out the impromptu compliments in all of us!

  3. Katie said,

    A plate called hope. I love it.

    • BS said,

      They’re witty those artsy fartsy folks.

  4. Peter DeWolf said,

    Yay! for the new mysterious blog project!

    • BS said,

      It’s taking me long enough to work up the nerve, now isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

