Chez BS

September 14, 2009 at 8:29 pm (future, past, present, the fam)

What would a new apartment be without a good knockdown-dragout fight with the cable company? If my posts are particularly short, it’s because I don’t yet have the interweb at Chez BS. I can actually call it that now! It’s my very own beautiful, organized, wonderful place. Classic minimalist with a touch of modern glamor – that’s me. Or how I’m branding myself anyway.

Case in point: my new fridge. This is what it looked like on Sunday evening.

My bachelorette fridge

My bachelorette fridge

I’m still unpacking and placing and finishing, so no real pictures yet, but here’s what I must say. Must.

The Dangerous Ex ROCKS MY WORLD. Oh yeah, it deserves all caps. It seems I’ve found a second thing he does well*. Dude showed up on a Saturday to do 80% of the heavy lifting. Not only is he big and strong, but he was also part of a high-end moving crew in a former life. While I tried not to giggle as I heard “Pivot!…Pivot!…Pivot!” in my head, he knew just how to tip the sofa around the stairway railing and lifted my obnoxiously heavy bookcase with his little finger. (That last one might be a slight exaggeration.) He has never looked more attractive to me than he did when bringing up the heavy end of the mattress**. Hand to God. And I knew him when he was fresh out of Basic and in full dress uniform and I’d been at a women’s college for 10 weeks. Yeah.

And then!

And then.

And then he started bringing out the good tequila.

Seriously.

Also mind-blowingly awesome? My parents. On so many levels. If real friends help you move, then I don’t know what you call parents who help you move, go without food for most of the day, buy you dinner, and manage to dissolve into hysterical laughter somewhere in the middle. I have the best parents ever. That is all.

*The guy has a really lovely singing voice. Ahem.
**Yes, there is a heavy end of the mattress. It’s whatever end I’m not carrying.

12 Comments

  1. amber said,

    The Dangerous Ex is being awfully helpful lately.

    Just sayin’. šŸ™‚

    • BS said,

      Not helpful enough for me to overlook that he’s…well, him.

  2. MJ said,

    Add a nice hunk of fine cheese to that fridge and you’ll be all set!

    I don’t know the whole back story with the Dangerous Ex, but I am inclined to agree with Amber. And, good tequila in a new apartment sounds extra dangerous!

    • BS said,

      Here’s the short version.

      He’s my high school boyfriend. (And a little bit of college.) And I love him (no, no, not like that) and he’s family in a weird, twisted way. But he’s also a manwhore.

  3. Jess said,

    Yay for being moved! And that fridge photo is awesome. You have your priorities in order.

    • BS said,

      First, chill the bubbly THEN unpack.

  4. Swistle said,

    Mmm mm, I do love to watch a man move a mattress. …Er, what did I just say?

    • BS said,

      I would have asked him to do the moving shirtless, but he would have liked it too much.

  5. SoMi's Nilsa said,

    It must feel really good to finally be in your new home. Your own space. With the support of loved ones. And lots of laughter. Sounds like it’s a good start so far (minus the little cable snafu).

    • BS said,

      It feels soooooooooooo good. I sleep better there already.

  6. Sid said,

    Dangerous Ex? I think I like the sound of that.

    • BS said,

      Wanna know a secret? [whispering] He’s not so dangerous.

Leave a comment