Friday Four (sort of)

September 18, 2009 at 8:55 am (Friday Four, the fam)

I had a deep, haunting post lined up, but then I thought

1) It’s Friday
2) No one likes deep BS very much
3) I’m really hungover

Once again my parents are in town (sort of) and once again we celebrated my parents’ anniversary (sort of) and once again my dad went all nutso with the booze ordering and had to drive my car for me.

It was a table of my dad’s co-workers, my mother, and me. It was a restaurant with two Michelin stars, a tasting menu, and a book for a wine list. Now I may be a sucker for a tasting menu, but Dad’s a sucker for a sommelier who loves California as much as France. It was the wine pairing for every course that did me in. DID. ME. IN. You have to train to drink like that.

Somewhere around the cheese course I realized that my dad was toasting me. Oh holy hell.

So here’s your Friday Four, which I promise took more effort than it seems.

  • I’m listening to Prop 8 – The Musical
  • I’m reading Saturday by Ian McEwan. Somewhere in my unpacking I found two copies and had never read either one. He needs to stop talking about brain surgery soon or I’m putting it right back down. I will puke on you Ian McEwan, I will. I’ll hunt you down and puke on you. Or, you know, I’ll just stop reading your book.
  • I’m craving Top Ramen. Don’t look at me like that, I’m hungover.
  • I’m coveting a place to eat my Top Ramen and watch bad cable. Did I mention I’m hungover?
7 Comments

  1. Jess said,

    That sounds like an amazing dinner! Hangover notwithstanding.

    • BS said,

      It was incredible. Completely amazing…and not something I plan to repeat anytime soon. Meals like that should be infrequent to be appreciated.

  2. MJ said,

    Training for heavy drinking sounds like way more fun than training for a serious hike or something. Screw stairmaster, let’s throwback shots of tequila until we barf!

    Jack (my boyfriend and co-habitant) makes something called “jail house” with ramen noodles…it involves eggs and hot sauce. Men.

    • BS said,

      An old roommate used to make something he called his “bachelor’s dinner” with hot dogs and beans and…who knows what else. Men, indeed.

  3. amber said,

    I always want Top Ramen when I’m hung over. It’s a thing. 🙂

    • BS said,

      Thanks for making me feel better.

  4. fabulousgirl said,

    I can’t help myself from reading McEwan, but he’s always unsatisfying, somehow – recently finished On Chesil Beach. Although perhaps the issue is that I’d read a version of it, and of Saturday, in The New Yorker, away in advance of publication. One of my only dislikes about TNY.

Leave a Reply

