Better than a cup of tea

September 24, 2009 at 9:09 am (It's all about me, present)

I’m a simple girl.

(Stop laughing.)

With simple tastes.

(I think you just snorked coffee.)

And in the new apartment, I’ve discovered a new love: washing my feet.

My old place had a shower stall, but no bathtub. Considering how I feel about baths, this was never a concern except when I realized that that shower was built for one and only one. *Ahem* But I had no idea what I was missing.

The new place has a shower-over-tub arrangement and while I still won’t take a bath (I actually just shuddered), I adore that tub. As my last activity before getting into bed, I sit on the edge with a bottle of handsoap – nothing fancy, just drugstore lavender-scented goo – cross one foot over the other knee, and treat myself to clean feet.

I know this seems like a small thing, but oh! what joy. Each foot gets a little rub, a little pressure on the sides of the heel, and some extra attention paid to the big toe joint. I get the soothing scent of lavender and the homey comfort of warm, wet feet.

It costs me almost nothing and makes me unreasonably happy. See? Simple girl.

Now about that bottle of Veuve Clicquot

What simple, nearly free activity makes you unreasonably happy?

9 Comments

  1. SoMi's Nilsa said,

    I love clean feet. I also will add a bunch of lotion to them to keep them soft! My nearly free thing I love is running with my dog. Nearly free as I can put my gym membership on hold during the warm months and great because I kill two birds with one stone (walking the dog AND getting in my exercise). Speaking of, I’m off to do that at lunch today!

    • BS said,

      Pretty sure just getting to spend time with a dog should be on my list. Enjoy your run!

  2. Jess said,

    Reading the newspaper on our patio with Torsten makes me happy. I love basking in the Colorado weather and sharing interesting stories with each other. Bonus if the dog is nearby chewing on a rawhide or something.

    • BS said,

      That’s a good one. Companionable silence and fresh air!

  3. Bridget said,

    Putting wild honeysuckle body butter on my feet. Lighting yummy candles and reading a book. Looking at the stars at night. Arguing with my dog. Yes, I said arguing. with. a. dog. Classical music on NPR on my drive home.

    Thank you for reminding me about simple things that make me happy. I really needed to take a step back.

    • BS said,

      I apologized to my car yesterday. Out loud. At least the dog has a brain.

  4. Karen said,

    Well my simple thing that I love doing is watching the little kids pay/practice soccer or football at the park. After I do my walk in the park, I like to sit and watch the kids. They are like 5 or 6 and totally disorganized and not listening to the coach, but they are so cute and so funny.

    • BS said,

      I LOVE this one! Little kid soccer is fantastic. It’s all followtheball, followtheball, followtheball. I’m thrilled that I asked this question and am getting such wonderful reminders of life’s simple pleasures.

  5. fabulousgirl said,

    Love this post. One of my fav things the past three years has been walking over to Tompkins Square Park (almost always after a mani-pedi) and watching the dogs play in the big and small dog runs.

Leave a Reply

