Fall in full bloom

September 29, 2009 at 10:54 am (future, It's all about me, On dating and mating)

A woman knows it, even if we pretend we don’t, when a man looks at her approvingly. And yesterday? There were several.

For most mammals there’s a buzz in the air in spring. All the little creatures, woodland and otherwise, come out of their winter hiding spots (dens, warrens, and North Face fleece) to flounce and flaunt and be seen. Not me. I love the freckles that appear on the bridge of my nose and the first feel of grass on flip-flop-wearing feet, but that thrumming happens for me in the fall.

It’s not just moving away from the hipsters in my old neighborhood and towards the yuppies in my new one, it’s…something in the air. I notice it in the teller at the bank who smiles his lopsided smile and stares and can’t seem to focus on the words coming out of my mouth. I notice it in the man up early with me on a Saturday carrying golf clubs, holding the door, and winking. I notice it as my gaze lingers on an average-looking blue shirt who knows how to fill out an overcoat. And I notice it in the way my thoughts keep coming back to my neighbor, broad-shouldered and somehow familiar, wearing a thin t-shirt on his way to the gym, so that I can see the long knot of muscle down his back as he lifts the garage door.

Fall makes me feel alive, beautiful, sexy, and powerful. It’s my season and it’s here.

11 Comments

  1. Karen said,

    I totally agree with you. Fall is my season too.

    • BS said,

      I saw your pumpkin patch pictures (say that five times fast) and got mighty jealous!

  2. Katie said,

    Back muscles are hot.

  3. WendyB said,

    I’m a summer girl…time for me to hibernate. Sigh.

    • BS said,

      Maybe summer is your season because you look so damn good in white leather?

  4. Jess said,

    Fall does the same for me. Maybe it’s the cooler weather making us all want to snuggle up.

    • BS said,

      Maybe. Or maybe I’m just cranky and scowling when it’s hot out.

  5. amber said,

    I know just what you mean. I love autumn.

    • BS said,

      It does, however, make me miss New England just the tiniest bit.

  6. Bridget said,

    I am so happy you understand seasonal bitchiness disorder and that you are in your favorite season. 🙂

    Meanwhile, I am with WendyB – it’s time to hibernate.

Leave a Reply

