MeMe

October 23, 2009 at 8:54 am (It's all about me)

Way back before I left for Germany, Mara over at In so many words… gave me the MeMe award, which was, well, superduperawesome of her. Perhaps it’s because she knows how I like to talk about myself. (Point of information: My favorite topic is actually shoulder freckles, but apparently that award doesn’t exist.) So, now I’m to list seven strange tidbits about moi. I have a feeling I could come up with more than seven, but many are known (see shoulder freckles, bathtubs, fear of stairs, dancing in the elevator) and you fine folks deserve something new to wrinkle your nose at when you call me weird.

1) Any kind of father/daughter thing makes me cry (think the end of the movie Blow).

2) Hazelnuts set my teeth on edge as if I were chewing on aluminum foil.

3) I love products made for babies. Wait, that sounds weird. It’s not like I’m sitting here in Pampers or anything, I promise, but Aveeno Baby Wash and Burt’s Bees Baby Bee line rock my world. These days I’ve switched to Korres products, but it’s not at all unusual to find me poking around in the baby aisle at Target.

4) I’m not a recipe cook. That is, I like recipes, I love to read them and I’m constantly collecting them, but I can’t remember when I last followed one to the letter. Probably elementary school. This means that the things I cook and bake are sometimes sub par, frequently well-above edible, and occasionally tremendous. I’d rather figure out the idea behind a dish and then tweak it to suit my needs.

5) I smile whenever I hear “Sweet Caroline.” On a bad day I sing along. On a good one, I do a little dance AND sing along.

6) My bra set off the metal detector at Dulles on Tuesday. It seems my Chantelle underwires are dangerous.

7) I still have an unreasonable crush on The Southerner.

6 Comments

  1. MJ said,

    I’m glad you did this! Memes are much fun. 🙂

    We share the recipes thing in common. When I want to make something, I do research, find the recipe I like best, and then I don’t follow it. Cooking is an art, following recipes to the “t” is like painting by numbers.

  2. amber said,

    YIKES! It would be so embarrassing to have an alarm go off because of your underwire!

    • BS said,

      Funny, I wasn’t embarrassed in the least as it was a woman and she told me that underwire bras are always setting off the alarm. Maybe if they’d made me take it off…

  3. Jess said,

    That’s a sensitive metal detector! My goodness.

    • BS said,

      I even made some comment to the security woman (who was great and I feel like I usually only have bad things to say to those folks!) about my big gazongas setting the thing off. She told me it happens all the time, no matter the size.

Leave a Reply

