“I’ll just be hanging around the mistletoe, hoping to be kissed.”

November 11, 2009 at 1:34 pm (future, if I ruled the world, in my head)

I think I should just be honest with you fine folks. Bare my soul, get the secret out in the open, throw caution to the wind, damn the torpedoes…you get the idea.

I’ve been listening to Christmas music since before Halloween.

Yes, I’m one of those people. But really, how do you not love this stuff? How do you not think of caroling (in four-part harmony with your high school chamber singers) and cookies and warm fires and pretty red wrapping paper with silver ribbons and hot cocoa spiked with peppermint schnapps and a candy cane stirrer and friggin’ Bing “All Things Good and Soothing” Crosby when you hear the sounds of the holiday season? How?

As far as I’m concerned, I can listen to this stuff in July if it makes me feel this good. Because, (to continue the soul-baring), I have not been feeling good. I’ve been sick. And tired. And tipsy. And irreverent. And annoyed. And grumpy. And fine*. But not good**.

Maybe it’s because I grew up without Christmas (shout out to all my fellow Chosen People…and then shoot me for saying “shout out”), but I just love the Jesus out of this holiday. Besides XMPR and Red Sox coverage, the Christmas stations (yes, there are several) are what I miss most about XM radio.

I own three ornaments and one stocking. This year I was thinking of treating myself to having the stocking embroidered with my name. First and middle, for those of you who know me that way (Hi Agent! And College Roommate!). I am also hoping to find an adorable miniature (real) tree under which I’ll put any presents and cards I receive. (That means I hope to receive presents^. And cards. Ahem.) God help me, this year I may even go see The Nutcracker. If I had a boyfriend, I swear there’d be a darn Eartha Kitt^^ impression going on in my apartment. As it is, I’m giving Mariah a run for her money when I belt it out in the safety of my car.

I’ve already told my mother that we’re having a family sing-along on Christmas Eve (and by “family” I mean that my dad will sit quietly and listen while those of us who can carry a tune sing). I’ve promised to bring home Love Actually for us to watch (as soon as I call the Ex-ALM and ask to borrow it). And of course I’ll bake up a sugar/butter storm.

So there, I’ve admitted it. I L-O-V-E LOVE Christmas. And I’m already celebrating.

How ’bout you?

*For the record, I did NOT mean “fiiiiiiiiiine” as in the word that follows “Baby, you’re lookin’…”
**I also haven’t been feeling like using proper grammar. Suck it.
^Handwritten cards that aren’t just a picture and/or a State of the Family note FULLY count as presents. Really. Nilsa sent a handwritten note a while back and it brought me all kinds of silly joy. And not just because that woman has THE COOLEST handwriting.
^^Minus the female impersonators.

12 Comments

  1. Bridget said,

    You have inspired me. I will listen to Christmas music and enjoy it. I am tired of impersonating Scrooge.

    • BS said,

      No need to force yourself. I promise that enough spiked hot apple cider will have you singing along in no time!

  2. MJ said,

    Hanukkah baby!

    • BS said,

      There are so, so, SO many things I love about being culturally Jewish (and I celebrate Hanukkah), but Christmas makes my heart race.

  3. Jess said,

    I love the season, but I can’t say that I get into it quite the way you do. But it does make me happy.

    • BS said,

      I’m weird. It’s OK, I’ve accepted it.

  4. SoMi's Nilsa said,

    Holiday music in October? I think that’s a mortal sin. Or at least it should be.

    I love the holidays. But, it’s more that I love the festiveness of all holidays. The traditions. The spending time with family, singing and otherwise. Though, I can’t say we’ve ever listened to holiday music in my house … I think Sweets might melt if I made him. hahaha.

    BTW, you are too kind about my handwriting … it used to be SO much better!

    • BS said,

      If listening to holiday music in October is a mortal sin, then I think I’ll like hell. 🙂

      I can’t imagine your handwriting being better. I’d pay you to address wedding invitations.

  5. Heids said,

    Go on with your Christmasy self. I thought I was one of the only sappy, holiday-special-watching, all-Christmas-music-station-listening ones.

    I can’t cop to listening to it in October (I like to save it so it’s more special that way).

    But I will freely admit to watching “Elf” at any time of the year.

    I’m singing … and I”m on a blog … and I’m singing …

    • BS said,

      Yay! Thanks for making me feel better. Crazy is so much more fun when it’s a group activity.

  6. Fabulous Girl said,

    Come across the pond, darlin’! Without Thanksgiving in the way, nor Hallowe’en, really, the Scots have been celebrating for weeks. Weeks!

  7. Myles Ash said,

    Hehe I’m literally the only comment to your amazing writing?!?

Leave a Reply

