Best of 2009 – Moment of Peace

December 8, 2009 at 11:25 pm (#best09)

Talking about Hawaii would be a cop-out. Hawaii IS peace and solitude and rejuvenation and contentedness. At least for me. At least in our little corner of Kona.

Talking about dance would be redundant. I’ve called it my church; there have been some powerful sermons this year. I go because I lose myself in it. Because the good and the bad of the day disappear into the movement. Because I find my peace in the studio.

Talking about wine would make me sound like an alcoholic. I’m confident that having two or three glasses a week doesn’t MAKE me an alcoholic, but there are days when I find a whole new world in the first five minutes of my buzz.

So, what, you might ask, will I be talking about? Well, swinging.

No, not the trading sexual partners kind, (I’m not into that, in case you’re now wondering) but the reliving childhood kind with some support surface hung between two chains, bars, or ropes. I LOVE swings. I like to push off hard then pump with all my might until I can lean back, let my hair fly, and watch clouds twirl above me.

It’s not just the connection to being a kid (with no job, rent, or adult responsibilities), it’s the wind. And the pendulum. Somewhere in that moment, at the highest point, you can suspend disbelief and think you’re never coming down. As if you are in fact floating. That breath – or maybe it’s more of a hiccup – is where I found my moment of peace this year.

6 Comments

  1. MJ said,

    Thank you for this post. I am the type of person who is not afraid to act childish–skip down the street, wear pigtails an glitter, respond with “your mom!”….but, I can’t remember the last time I was on a swing. I think I need to find myself a playground and free my soul…

    • BS said,

      I would skip down the street with you any day!

  2. Jess said,

    This sounds very peaceful, just reading it. I kind of want to go find a swing set now.

    • BS said,

      Go! It’s even better when you’re flying by a friend or significant other. Take Torsten!

  3. Fabulous Girl said,

    A definite highlight of my year was swinging on Governor’s Island. Thanks for the reminder!

    • BS said,

      Swings are seriously underrated.

Leave a Reply

