Happy

December 8, 2009 at 12:04 pm (in my head)

I swear to Oprah I’ve been trying to make myself happy lately. Really, really trying. I mean without booze. Yeah, see? Really trying.

Here’s another attempt.

Things that have made me happy…

in the last 5 minutes.
O Holy Night

in the last 5 hours.
My rock hard mattress covered with a pillowtop mattress pad is so unbelievably comfortable for a stomach-sleeper like me. Particularly in a cold apartment with the down comforter tucked up to my nose.

in the last 5 days.
Not many people wear red lipstick quite as well as WendyB, but dammit I’ve been trying! And here’s the thing. It’s a small change, but a powerful one. It makes me love my dark hair and pale skin. It makes me feel like a starlet. It makes me feel like a bombshell. It’s just the right throwback to the glamorous Old Hollywood look I love. It makes a black dress interesting. It makes choosing the rest of your makeup easy (black liquid eyeliner, pale matte shadow, perfect skin).

in the last 5 months.
The Ex-ALM’s new girlfriend. No, I’m serious. 1) I just like the woman and 2) it’s wonderful to see him happy.

in the last 5 years.
My growing relationship with my cousins. I no longer feel like the outcast Californian and actually look forward to spending time with them in April when (if? I’m shocked no one has money on whether this thing will actually happen) my frat boy cousin gets hitched.

8 Comments

  1. Jess said,

    I would please like a photo of you in the red lipstick (or lippie as the Brits say). Any chance?

    • BS said,

      Perhaps I’ll email you one…

  2. SoMi's Nilsa said,

    I’ll second what Jess says – photo, please!

  3. WendyB said,

    YES!!! Red lips! You’re not going to be able to go back to blah lip colors, trust me! I want to know what brand/color you’re wearing.

    • BS said,

      My new love is the NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella for a deep blue-red, but I’m also fond of M.A.C.’s Ladybug (a true red) and Trish McEvoy’s Rio (more bricky).

  4. MJ said,

    I really liked this post….I hope you won’t mind if I steal it for my own blog. 🙂

    • BS said,

      Of course not! But I hope that doesn’t mean you’re back from Paris so soon…

Leave a Reply

