…and to all a good night!

December 29, 2009 at 12:37 am (future, past, plays well with others, present)

Just taking a moment out of my jet-setting lifestyle to check in. OK, so it’s not really that jet-setting, but I have been all over the place more than anyone who isn’t visiting in-laws or extended family or promoting a book/movie/TV show should be. I got home from work last Friday, got into a car accident (no, really, we’re not even going to talk about it), got a sympathetic hug from hot neighbor (he shaved the goatee), downed three fingers of bourbon, hastily packed  a suitcase, didn’t sleep a wink, then took a cab to SFO and a plane to Denver.

Colorado Friend’s (devastatingly handsome) British husband and (devastatingly handsome) British brother-in-law picked me up at the airport with my dear, dear friend K in the backseat. I counted oversized trucks (this coming from a girl who grew up in farm country) while they continued a conversation about, well, morning wood. It more or less became a party from there. We baked cookies, went to Colorado Friend’s harp concert, reminisced, skied Breckenridge, played ping-pong, cuddled with the huskies, and laughed ’til we cried. I learned that “wanker” comes from the verb “to wank” (those Brits, they’re so terribly crass) and used admirable restraint when faced with a vintage Burberry trench for $90 (no amount of cinching could hide the fact that it was too big).

This evening I hitched a ride back to San Francisco from Mom and Dad, paused just long enough to enjoy a lovely dinner with them, then rushed home to not-so-hastily pack a suitcase so that I can sleep soundly, then take a ride from C’s mom to SFO and a plane to Portland where C and I will spend a refined-as-we-wanna-be New Year’s Eve.

In between there was time at my parents’ house where I rolled around on the floor with the dogs, took them for long walks, drove into the mountains for fresh air and perspective, worked up a sweat in a friend’s dance classroom, had lunch with my favorite girls from high school, met their yummy baby-smelling babies, ran into the Dangerous Ex’s family (minus Mr. D.E.) and was reminded, yet again, that I am so lucky to have known–to continue to know–the great people who populated my teenage years.

I’ve been rather focused on the present (not to be confused with presents, though I received a few of those too) for the past week and a half, which tends to lend itself to blog silence. Apologies, I’m sure you’ll agree, are not necessary because you all understand.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all of you out in the blogosphere (and to those to whom I owe an email, text, or phone call).

Until next year,

BS

3 Comments

  1. MJ said,

    Happy New Year!

  2. Jess said,

    I’m mad at you for coming to Denver without telling me. That is all.

    • BS said,

      Ha! I did tell you…though ages ago. I was in Erie and without a car for most of the visit, but it would have been nice to have met you in person!

Leave a Reply

