Be My Blog Valentine

February 8, 2010 at 5:42 pm (future, It's all about me, plays well with others)

I’m not into Valentine’s Day in the traditional sense. You know, the dozen red roses and fancy steak dinner and one day a month you wear sexy lingerie. This could be because I like my roses white and have begun to avoid beef and wholeheartedly think sexy lingerie deserves regular wearing, but it’s also because I’ve always appreciated a different kind of romance.

I’m single on Valentine’s Day this year, but to be honest, I don’t mind a bit. I mind being single*, sure, but that won’t make February 14th different from any other day.

Last year I gathered with other single girlfriends and, quite honestly, had the best night of the year. This year looks like more of the same, but I find myself getting into it. I want to get these for the girls tied to little JimmyJane candles (oh, hush–don’t act shocked!) with a tiny cellophane envelope full of cinnamon hearts. I want to get this for C (who will be in town for the weekend) and other small home items for some of my other besties. I want to bake heart-shaped cookies for my co-workers and go office to office hand-delivering them.

None of it will happen–or very little will happen–but I do get to give (and get!) a present this year. I’m participating in Be My Blog Valentine (masterminded by Ashalah). I’m already excited about what I’m sending off to my secret valentine, but in case someone is visiting and wondering what to get me (not so nice that I made you wade through three paragraphs to get to this, was it), here’s the deal:

  • I kind of love anything letterpress. Like this or this.
  • I’ve recently become obsessed with vintage clear glass coasters (random, I know).
  • I do a happy dance for dark chocolate, seasonal M&Ms (i.e. in holiday colors), gummy cherries, and cinnamon bears. The happy dance may or may not involve a pirouette. 
  • Bookmarks are ALWAYS good and useful. Likewise anything that quotes Jane Austen. Or Dorothy Parker.
  • And mix-CDs of music I’ve never heard before are welcome too.

To be honest, I will thrilled by whatever I get, but it’s always helpful when someone (especially when that someone is a stranger) gives you a direction in which to head.

*It still terrifies me to admit that.

8 Comments

  1. Bridget said,

    I really should have signed up for the Valentine exchange. I didn’t. Way to go for you… and I think I owe you a few mix-CDs. Valentines Day or not.

    • BS said,

      I think you do! 🙂

      Then again I owe you a couple of CDs too.

  2. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks said,

    I love that you’re embracing your singlehood this Valentine’s Day. I always loved being single and never really cared about Valentine’s Day. Later this week, I have a post all about what I won’t be doing this Valentine’s Day now that I’m married (no chocolates, no flowers, no dinner reservations for two, etc.). Relish in your life now – it’s the only one you’ve got!

    • BS said,

      I waver, but yes, I’m embracing my singlehood at the moment. The holidays were tough, but it has never bothered me to be single on Valentine’s Day.

  3. Jess said,

    I love letterpress too. I just wish it weren’t so freaking expensive.

    • BS said,

      OK, I am getting WAY too into this holiday. Now I kind of want to send you a letterpress valentine!

  4. Windsor Grace said,

    I’m so jealous I didn’t know about the Valentine thing. This is the first year I am going to celebrate Valentine’s Day as an adult. I think I celebrated as a kid and not since then. I have been in relationships, but I have always been the anti-Vday person. I have a new sweetie and I’m excited to acknowledge the day this year.

    • BS said,

      Well if YOU got me, I’d want those awesome pain-in-the-ass-to-make gloves! Mwahahaha….

Leave a Reply

