I have cooties

May 11, 2010 at 12:43 pm (It's all about me)

Hives kind of suck, but I don’t have hives. What I do have is a weird rash that showed up on my ankles and then my chest and that has now spread to my neck, shoulders, and face. It itches sometimes (I could scratch right through the skin below my jawline at the moment) and isn’t even uncomfortable at others. I haven’t had any of the symptoms that would have had the Kaiser advice nurse sending me rushing to the emergency room (shortness of breath, swelling of the throat, face, or tongue, fever, difficulty breathing) as evidenced by my return to dance class last night (three hours of dance tells me plainly that I can breathe just fine), but it is rather annoying nonetheless. Especially since I will be getting on a red eye to Boston in less than 36 hours. I look, um, less than lovely.

In other news, I was positively *thrilled* to get back to dance class last night. It had been a full month. How did I celebrate my return? By falling on my ass, natch. [Warning: Dance terminology ahead] Did I fall doing a triple pirouette*? Or maybe during the calypso leap? Oh no, not me. I fell doing a pas de bourree, which is pretty much the first thing you learn at, say, age 6. Wham! right on my knee.

So now I look like a leper with a limp. And, since I’m desperately searching my closet for tops that come up to my neck, I look like an Amish leper with a limp.

Sexy.

*In my opinion this girl is spinning, not turning, but I’m not going to spend too much time on it.

9 Comments

  1. Jess said,

    Ouch, that rash sounds like no fun! My sister had something similar and it turned out to be ringworm. Her doctor prescribed her something and it went right away.

    • BS said,

      I looked up pictures of ringworm, scabies, shingles and a few others. It wasn’t any of those. Also? I don’t recommend looking up pictures of ringworm, scabies, shingles, or other skin issues. Gross.

  2. k8 said,

    Try some benadryl. If that doesn’t do anything, I’d say you probably should see a doctor.

    Says Kate, who did NOT go to nursing school, but randomly investigates diseases of all origins.

    • BS said,

      I spoke with a doctor who prescribed a steroid cream and told me to come in if it persisted. Useful since I’d be 3,000 miles away.

  3. Bridget said,

    Oh no… As someone who has had her fair share of rashes (thank you sensitive skin), I am really sorry. K8 is right – Benadryl may help.

    Have a fabulous time in Boston!

    • BS said,

      Benadryl, Allegra, Claritin…nothing really helped.

  4. Mara J. said,

    I think I have cooties too. It’s been one issue after another–sinus infection, whooping cough (OK, not whooping, but persistent), and no uveitis. I’ve decided I need to do a cleansing fast and start fresh. Starting next week, no coffee, smoking, meat or dairy for me. Then, over the weekend, I’ll do a juice fast. It’s worth a shot…

    • BS said,

      I’m going to have to pop over to your blog to see how that went for you. You pretty much lost me at “no coffee” 🙂

  5. amber said,

    Don’t feel bad – my idea of dancing is a sort of disconnected bopping of the head and various other parts (depending on how sexy I’m trying to be) that completely lacks rhythm. My sister once told me I look like one of those jerky two-ticket fair rides. Needless to say, I could USE a lesson or two.

Leave a Reply

