Happy

July 6, 2010 at 11:02 am (It's all about me, present)

Once again, to combat an inexplicable bad mood, I’m looking on the bright side.

Things that have made me happy…

in the last 5 minutes.

This song. And um, yeah…that’s Hanson.

[Excuse me for a minute, I’m still bouncing in my chair.]

in the last 5 hours.

Power nap on the train this morning.

in the last 5 days.

An afternoon spent fantasizing about a nice little weekend house in Woodside. With a pergola outside and a huge stone fireplace in the great room.

in the last 5 months.

The Man hears me. I bring up things that are bothering me or changes I’d like to make. Sometimes it’s part of a larger conversation and sometimes it’s an off-hand comment. Sometimes I don’t even remember that I’ve said whatever I said out loud. And yet he hears me and helps. He suggests a street festival because I said I want to do more city things. He remembers that I don’t like bananas though I’m not sure I ever told him. He takes me to inspect three different Caltrain stations because the commute from his house to work is starting to take a financial toll. He hears me. And almost always the first time.

in the last 5 years.

California. Still. Nothing will cure this bad mood faster or better than the swim I’ll take in an hour…in an outdoor pool…in 80 degree sunshine.

6 Comments

  1. Jess said,

    I have to say… I’m not feeling the Hanson song. I’m listening to it right now and the bouncing has not yet begun. Why not? Why does it make you bounce and not me?

    So glad you have a Man who hears you.

    • BS said,

      Because that’s what makes a horse race. Funnily enough, when I created a Pandora station with it, the first artist who came up was Eric Lindell, another of my favorites.

  2. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks said,

    You know you’re with the right someone when he hears you even though you haven’t asked him to listen to anything in particular. The ones who pay attention to the details? They’re the ones who really care about you. Yay!

  3. Peter DeWolf said,

    Hanson?

    Really?

    • BS said,

      Oh come now, Peter, you know I was never meant to be part of the hipster music elite.

Leave a Reply

