Bikinis and photos of me (but no photos of me in a bikini because I’m confident, not crazy)

July 20, 2010 at 9:59 am (future, It's all about me)

The Man and I disagree about which women (celebrities, subjects of news stories) are attractive. I don’t know whether I should be concerned by this considering he (obviously) finds me attractive.

I have begun to notice that invitations to things happen more often now that I’m less single*. Is this because it’s uncomfortable for a married (or unmarried) couple to hang out with a single woman?

I think my definition of summer glamour may be a Missoni bikini.

We leave tomorrow afternoon for five days of “luxury camping” near Yosemite. I hope that means the tent comes with a butler, but I’m pretty sure it translates to an air mattress. There will be children (not mine) and his friends (not mine) and while I like both the children and the friends, I am bringing three books because I am determined to rid myself of the raging Speedo tan that leaves my tummy a shade lighter than clotted cream. I will read, the sun will shine, The Man will pour drinks.

I am more than a little obsessed with ampersands.
& & &
I think I’d like to start a collection.

And finally, because I thought you’d prefer a photo of my face to one of my newly pedicured toes, here I am caught in the act of…hair twirling? at the Giants game on Saturday. The Man loves this picture, though I think that has something to do with the fact that he was the photographer.

This makes San Francisco summers look about 15 degrees warmer than they are, even though I'm in a hoodie.

*Single being unmarried, not unattached.

9 Comments

  1. Jess said,

    I didn’t take that photo but I love it too. So apparently I’m with him on this one!

    • BS said,

      Well thanks! I find that some of my favorite photos happen when I’m not even looking at the camera.

  2. Bridget said,

    Hrmph. Yes, I think couples are more comfortable with couples. Less talk of, “Why aren’t you dating anyone special?” Gar.

    No more bitterness. Yes, it is a great photo. Enjoy Yosemite! Several days of reading sounds lovely…

    • BS said,

      Oh good. At least it’s that and not some bizarre concern that I’d be hitting on one of them.

  3. k8 said,

    Books on vacation are divine.

  4. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks said,

    Awww, tent camping. You’ll have fun. Especially if you aren’t an expert camper, because that means other people will take care of set-up and tear-down of the campsite. =) Have a great trip!

    • BS said,

      I am most certainly not an expert camper, though I have been several times and can set up a tent, cook a meal over a campfire, and shower in 4 minutes or less because that’s all you get.

  5. amber said,

    I like that picture of you, too. Am glad, too, that you’re attached. 🙂

Leave a Reply

